The History of St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic School
In August 1959, St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic Church opened its Parish School, under the direction of Rev. Patrick J. Hollaran, S.J. and the Sisters of Charity, to 317 students in grades kindergarten through 8. By 1964, a new north wing was added to the School and for the next 20 years, the Parish and School continued to experience steady growth.
By 1984, a cornerstone for a new church building was laid, allowing the School to expand into the old Parish quarters. Then, in the late 1980’s, under the leadership of Rev. Sean J. O’Shea, the School and Church were modernized, becoming two buildings connected by the “cloister”, as part of his dream to provide a Catholic education for every child eligible.
The need to accommodate ever-increasing enrollment made expansion and enhancements to the school facility a priority in the mid to late 90’s. By 1998, yet another addition was completed,. New classrooms, a cafeteria/auditorium, and a gym/parish activity center, heralded as state-of-the-art, were added to the Church and School campus.
From 1990 to 2008, Rev. Daniel J. Spexarth was the Pastor of St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic Church. Under his direction, the School was awarded the Diocesan School of Academic Excellence. Fr. Dan ensured the educational needs of all parishioners were accommodated through the School.
Since 2006, St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic School has been under the direction of Rev. Matthew C. McGinness. Together with Principal Mary Sweet, technology has been a focus of strategic enhancements, the kitchen was remodeled in 2013 and, in 2014, major improvements were made to the playground.